Home

Residential Moving

Business Moving

Packing & Storage

Testimonials

Links

Maryland: 301-670-4638
Virginia: 703-560-6683





  >> Testimonials About Commonwealth Movers

I recently used Commonwealth Movers to move from Fairfax, VA to South Carolina. I had never done a major interstate move before and I was especially concerned that some very valuable family heirlooms and delicate antique furniture arrive without any damage. I chose Commonwealth based on their high percentage of good reviews on several sites and consumer sources. I had an extremely positive experience from the initial inquiry and estimate to the final move. My stress and concern quickly subsided once the packers came to my house and I saw that they knew what they were doing and that they were treating my possessions with care. The team that I had to pack, drive to South Carolina and unpack were exceptional. Everything was packed well and arrived safely. My team lead, Leonel, listened carefully to everything I said and put everything exactly where it was to go in the new house. I noticed the camaraderie of the team which showed that they were happy and worked well together which resulted in good work. The owner took an active concern in the planning and execution of the move even visiting my house during the packing process. I am extremely happy that I chose Commonwealth Movers and I highly recommend them.

JP - From Fairfax, VA to South Carolina




My wife and I used your company in March of 2015 and really were pleased with our move. This past Saturday our daughter Sara moved from one apartment in Reston to another apartment. She used Commonwealth as we were so pleased and she too had an excellent stress free experience. Your movers came early (a good thing) and finished within 2 and a half hours. They were efficient and courteous.

Thank you so much for making this move and our previous move so positive.
Arthur Polton


Commonwealth was recommended by another reputable moving coming in the DC area that was booked, but pointed me to Commonwealth as their go-to overflow company. Having had a disastrous experience last year with another company, who's guys threw my stuff around and scratch and beat up some things (sloppy handling), and an even worse experience a few years ago with yet another moving company, who outright stole a laptop and other valuable personal items from my things, Commonwealth was a breath of fresh air. Faith was a pleasure to set up the order with. Because of a sudden business meeting request the day of the move - I was moving locally from Takoma Park to Silver Spring - I asked if the moving guys could come as early as possible. I was told - at such short notice - maybe 8am (normally they start at 9). The team actually came at 7am - which was perfect for me. The moving team were all careful with my things and pros and fast... the whole move got done in 4 hours and I had a 3 bdr house to move (I was well packed and prepared for them however; had I not been, it would have taken way longer). Nothing was damaged or scratched - and throughout the process both Faith, and the dispatcher - were in touch and pleasant - and the moving crew was as nice as could be. I would recommend them in a heartbeat to you and anyone.

Andrew B. from Silver Spring, MD


Our local move was over 2 days as we hired Commonwealth for both packing and moving. Oscar, Xavier, Christian, Julio and Jose worked diligently and professionally even on the hottest day of the year. We would not hesitate to use Commonwealth again.

D. Eliason - Alexandria, VA 22309


Commonwealth Movers moved us from our home in Baltimore, Maryland to our new house in Glen Arm, Maryland.

What a great experience! Commonwealth was a pleasure to work with from start to finish. From the professionalism of the sales manager who came to give us a quote to the moving crew who did such a fantastic job for us on moving day--they were just outstanding. It was a typically hot and humid Maryland day on moving day but this was nothing for the 5 men, led by the crew chief Julio. They were friendly, professional, extremely efficient, fast, hard-working and very, very careful. As soon as they came in they rolled out plastic sheeting to protect our rugs (this was done in the house we moved into as well). We were so impressed with their speed and strength. We had some very heavy pieces including a piano in our basement that had to be moved around a tight turn and up a flight of stairs. Not one scratch on the walls! In fact, we found absolutely no marks or scratches from the move in either house. We had a ton of furniture and over 150 boxes that were moved and this speaks volumes about just how superior this moving company was for us. The men asked us where we wanted each piece and put it precisely where we wanted it, then later asked us to do a walk-through and they'd be happy to adjust. Because of their high efficiency and our good packing the job actually came in under the estimated time and saved us some money.

Highly recommend them. The last thing you want to worry about on moving day is whether your moving company will be on time and good. With Commonwealth we didn't have to worry at all. We truly felt this move could not have gone better. Wish they could unpack us!!!

Dara S. - Glen Arm, MD 21057


I have been remiss in not writing you since we arrived in Waxhaw on June 18, but you can appreciate that weve been busy unpacking. Just wanted to let you know how pleased we were with all aspects of the move. The crew was great, the move was efficient and accomplished carefully, and the only minor damages were our fault, not yours/theirs. I have already passed your name on to a former co-worker who has retired and is planning on moving to Florida.

Thanks very much!
Tony - Bethesda, MD to Waxhaw, NC


Things could not have gone better. Mr. Corrado came to our home in Silver Spring and provided us with a cost estimate. We compared Commonwealth Movers' price to those from other moving companies and found it to be lowest by far. We arranged for our items to be picked up from our home in Silver Spring on Thursday, April 30, 2015 and to be delivered to an apartment in Asheville, NC on Saturday, May 2, 2015. The movers (four gentlemen) arrived at our home in Silver Spring early and did an outstanding job loading boxes, cartons, crates and furniture onto their truck. They were so skilled and so professional! Two of the gentlemen who loaded the boxes arrived at the Asheville apartment (also early!) on May 2, 2015 and unloaded everything. I was afraid things would not fit into the apartment - too much stuff. Xavier is incredibly knowledgeable about everything - he eyed each room and knew which items would fit best in which locations. Everything arrived just fine and was unloaded professionally. I give Commonwealth Movers the highest of recommendations based on my very positive experience. Wonderful, responsive staff. Fair price. Excellent job.
Mindy - Silver Spring, MD


The crew of four were very professional and had great attention to detail. They had me review all that I was moving, this included noting what was not being moved. I had a few antique pieces that I was nervous about. They reviewed each piece before they moved it so it was noted what scratches already existed. They wrapped them very well, no damages to them. I don't think one wall was marked at either house. We had to use 2 doors at the new house as the one stairwell was too narrow to have furniture on it. They organized the 2 trucks by which level the furniture and boxes were going - so well organized, I was amazed that they took the time to do this and do it right. I had forgotten to remove a bed skirt, they didn't even mention it, just folded it up AND put it back on the bed at the new house - very thoughtful. They took the time to place the furniture exactly where I wanted it. All but a few boxes were in the correct rooms. The only damage we had was a small scratch on our leather sofa - they had someone out to repair it within a week - and it was repaired extremely well. My questions before the move were always answered in a timely way over email. They arrived on time, then the move was exactly as estimated. They crew worked very hard and since it was a close move, didn't get much time to take a break.
Jane - Silver Spring, MD


I just want to write a short note to let you guys know what a good job the moving crew did for us this past Saturday. Nothing broken, nothing scratched and finished ahead of time.

If people ask me for recommendations, you guys are at the top of the list.
Thanks,
Annica


Where do I begin describing the amazing move afforded us by Commonwealth Movers. Our experience began with a visit from Mike Corrado who explained, in detail, every aspect of our move. This was expected to be a very difficult move for us for my husband is not well and that is the reason we decided to move from a three level home into a one level condominium. I was extremely apprehensive about the entire process. We had interviewed the mover who previously had moved us five times but , because this move was so atypical in so many regards especially because of my husband's health and the need to understand his requirements and demands , I was hesitant to enlist their services for it seemed they would only adhere to a cut and dry way of making the move as had been done in the past but this required a great deal more . We spoke with Mike and all my fears dissipated and we followed our gut feelings and went with Commonwealth Movers.This was , without a doubt , the best decision we have ever made. The move was undertaken, by Commonwealth, with our needs first and foremost. A plan for the move was given us with the understanding we could change the schedule anytime and that they would work around our schedule and needs especially as my husband's health was concerned. The move was staged in phases to diminish our stress levels . In fact it was broken down into six days toward the end of the week of the scheduled move. A day to help my husband pack his office with two men helping. A day to wrap all of our very old and valuable antiques and portraits. A day to load the truck and the following day to move everything from Gaithersburg into Timonium.

After the move into Timonium , we were given a respite and time to evaluate what we might yet want to be moved into the condo and then a day was set to move what was not moved into the condo to our daughter's house in Towson, near our condo, and then the rest into a 10x35 storage unit in Towson as well.

Needless to say , this took immense planning on Mike's behalf and tremendous cooperation by the amazing team of men, four in total and led by a terrific man named Lionel , who handled the wrapping, packing, moving and unpacking. To say we were pleased is not saying enough. To say we were amazed by the quality of care and concern always at the forefront of everyone's interaction with us, is to say too little. If I could I would spread the word in every possible way to encourage people to use Commonwealth Movers for any and every move they may undertake. I know we will . I know my children will be encouraged to use them and I am trying my best to tell anyone and everyone how wonderful they are and that the move I so dreaded turned out to be one of the best experiences of our lives to date and my husband and I , at 73, have had many experiences .

The price Mike quoted ,from the very beginning ,was exactly the price we paid though we were expecting it to be so much more for so much was done and we could not believe that we received such amazing care and such professional work within the price range we were quoted .All in all it was a terrific move in every way!

P. Rich, Timonium, MD


April 10, 2015
Kevin Krisoff
Commonwealth Movers Inc.
7650 Rickenbacker Drive
Gaithersburg, MD 20879

Dear Mr. Krisoff,
Commonwealth Movers handled my move from Sailfish Terrace in Montgomery Village to the Village of Rockville recently. Packing was done on March 23 and the actual move was on March 24. Despite my anxieties, everything went absolutely smoothly and the experience far exceeded my expectations. The credit for that goes to your first-rate team that did the actual packing and moving. Xavier and his co-workers were professional, polite, incredibly efficient and so good natured that is was actually enjoyable to have them around. Best of all, they all made me feel that my best interests were paramount.

So thank you for a great experience. And thank you for having such great employees. They serve Commonwealth well.

Sincerely,
Ann B. Wexler


Kevin - The move was a great success and I appreciated the care with which my worldly possessions were handled. The next day I went down to my leasing office and highly recommended you and made sure the agent wrote down the info because I am sure people do ask them for recommendations. As long as I have to live like a gypsy I'll call you guys to help me move.
Thank you,
Debra

Customer review from Consumers Checkbook: Subscriber from ARLINGTON, VA wrote on 02/21/15:

Couldn't have been happier with Commonwealth Movers. We moved locally within Arlington in November 2014, and they were efficient, careful, and extremely professional. Highly recommend them.

Customer review from Consumers Checkbook: Subscriber from DERWOOD, MD wrote on 03/04/15:

Why only 95%?!! This firm is 100% all the way. Used them twice, will be using a third time in several months. Great company, great owner. The Amazon of movers.

Customer review from Consumers Checkbook: Subscriber from LEESBURG, VA wrote on 03/05/15:

Outstanding! Best movers I've ever used. Professional, courteous, efficient, and they took great care with all of our furniture. Pricing was competitive as well.

Customer review from Leslie Finlow: We have moved many times, from other states as well as from abroad, and this was the most positive experience ever. We have absolutely no complaints and only praise for the guys who packed, moved, stored, moved and unpacked us. The price was good, the service superb.
Thank you
Faith, Jose, Javier and the rest!

This customer needed to move in three phases with some furniture going to other houses and some into our storage facility. The final portion of the move will take place once the customer have settled on her new home. Read the Testimonal she sent us in November 2014.

Kevin, I'm taking time out from my unpacking to let you know how impressed my husband and I were with your moving crew on Friday, October 17th. They were courteous, respectful of our possessions, and efficiently and quickly put everything into the proper place and willingly made a few minor adjustments.

I hope I never have to move again, but if I did I would certainly use Commonwealth Movers. In the meantime, I will definitely refer family and friends to you. Thank you for a pleasant and stress-free moving experience.
Linda Marans

Saturday, August 9th, Commonwealth Movers sent a team to my house to help with a single family move.  I just wanted to say that they were outstanding and I couldn't believe how efficient they were.  They were able to move things that I thought would take all day, but got it done in half the time.  They were also very courteous and professional.

Thanks again and we will definitely recommend you all in the future.
All the Best,
David Craig

August 8, 2014

We used Commonwealth to load two 16' containers for storage. This company sent us three hard working, courteous men who worked miracles packing all of our belongings safely into our containers. We booked this company as it has the highest rating on Checkbook, and that rating is well-deserved. These men were absolute pros, taking care to wrap furniture and treasured art work and taking care not to scratch our hardwood floors and walls on the way out. They arrived on time and worked extremely hard the entire time they were on site, with just a short break for lunch.

Commonwealth has been in the business for a long time and keeps its experienced people. It shows. We highly recommend their services.
Warmest regards,
Sue Lloyd-Davies

GAITHERSBURG, MD 06/12/14
They arrived on time, finished a half hour early, and did not lose or damage anything. They were careful and considerate despite our not being totally prepared.

Alexandrian, VA February 07, 2014
Pack and move partially furnished two bedroom garden style condo
With only one week’s notice and a recommendation we booked Commonwealth Movers. Julio, Joe and Enrique showed up ready to work. They got stuck in traffic on the way to Alexandria but I got a call letting me know. They apologized immediately upon arrival as well and were ready to work. Common courtesy goes a long way! Five hours of packing, one hour of actual moving and one fifteen minute break and they were done! Well worth every penny. They were much more efficient than I would have been. In addition they were friendly and very positive. Will always use them and recommend them to everyone we know!!! Oh and we have 60 stairs no elevator and not one complained!

Rockville, MD February 07, 2014
Pack and move partially furnished two bedroom garden style condo
With only one week’s notice and a recommendation we booked Commonwealth Movers. Julio, Joe and Enrique showed up ready to work. They got stuck in traffic on the way to Alexandria but I got a call letting me know. They apologized immediately upon arrival as well and were ready to work. Common courtesy goes a long way! Five hours of packing, one hour of actual moving and one fifteen minute break and they were done! Well worth every penny. They were much more efficient than I would have been. In addition they were friendly and very positive. Will always use them and recommend them to everyone we know!!! Oh and we have 60 stairs no elevator and not one complaint!

WASHINGTON, DC 12/08/13
They were very professional -- honest about pricing, showed up on time, prompt and efficient, so much so the bill came in under the estimate. It made the move much less stressful, and when a small problem arose, the owner went beyond his obligations to solve the problem. I would definitely use them again and recommend them highly.

ARLINGTON, VA 08/30/13
We used them twice in the past year and they were outstanding! no nicks no scratches on furniture or walls and they were very efficient!

OAKTON, VA 06/26/13
We moved in April, which is a slow time of year, but were still impressed with the speed and quality of service we got from Commonwealth. Mike came to give us a quote, but was hesitant to give us a flat fee because of how much stuff we had, and gave us an hourly rate instead. I had read that its much more reliable to get a flat rate quote from a mover, but decided to go with Commonwealth anyway based on the overwhelming # of positive reviews on Checkbook. They did not disappoint. Showed up on time, moved very quickly and efficiently. No damage to any of our stuff. Finished before dinnertime. The final price was extremely reasonable.
Highly recommend.

GARNET VALLEY, PA 04/17/13
Commonwealth Movers did an outstanding job of moving me from Virginia to Pennsylvania. Everyone connected with the company is extremely professional and helpful. Most importantly, the actual movers are the nicest, happiest group of guys I have ever met. By brother, who has been a realtor for 30 years and dealt with lots of movers, couldn't get over how great they were with everything. I highly recommend Commonwealth Movers.

BETHESDA, MD 04/17/13
We had a good experience with Commonwealth Movers. We hired them to pack and move from one house in Bethesda to another. The movers were efficient and polite and no furniture or other items were damaged during the move. The price was slightly less expensive than the other large DC area moving companies. The sales rep who provided the initial estimate was straightforward and honest and gave us good tips on a few items we could pack ourselves to reduce the packing expense. I'm glad to recommend this company on Consumers' Checkbook because we hired them based solely on other reviews on this web site.

BETHESDA, MD February 26, 2013
Move all of the large and/or heavy or awkward pieces from a 3 bedroom townhouse to a single family home.

My husband and I moved from a townhouse to a single family home, and hired Commonwealth Movers to move only the largest and/or heaviest pieces, which are A LOT. The estimate allowed for 4 people for 6 hours to arrive between 8:30 and 9:00 on the morning of February 22nd, 2013. The truck pulled up at exactly 8:30 (bonus!) and 6 people actually came in and began covering and hauling away those pieces immediately. The team work they demonstrated was absolutely unmatched by any other moving team I have ever seen. They were not only punctual, but extremely efficient, polite, careful, and very fast. They managed to move all of the pieces we identified for the estimate as well as an additional 10 - 15 items we were going to take ourselves, but asked them to instead, and were more than happy to. The entire move took less than 4 hours, and cost almost $2,000 LESS than the estimate.

BETHESDA, MD 11/10/12
Used them for a local move. Everything went as planned. A few misplaced boxes but otherwise a fairly smooth day. Very competitive rate and estimator nailed the amount of time and workers we would need. Liked the idea of using a larger firm in case an issue with a truck came up. Everyone spoke English. Would use them again.

SILVER SPRING, MD 09/28/12
Commonwealth packed up my 3 bedroom townhouse - that work was done professionally and neatly. I kept items in its storage facility and moved the items 2 years later. Saw virtually no damage when all the crates were opened so I could decide what to donate, keep, move to current residence or place is closer self-storage unit. The crew worked tirelessly from early in the day until late at night. I will use Commonwealth for my next move - I trust them.

STERLING, VA 09/18/12
Have used these guys for an office move and a residential move. Top notch!

BETHESDA, MD 09/18/12
Very professional and efficient, the hole experience was positive.

MERRIFIELD, VA 09/18/12
I made the mistake of booking a mover based on Yelp - and they cancelled a week before the move. Fortunately I remembered Checkbook, and checked their list of movers. Commonwealth was available, and highly rated (and deservedly so). They showed up early, and did a great job on what turned out to be a fairly tough move.

WASHINGTON, DC 07/31/12
I recently moved a large home and the move went absolutely smoothly. The team was extremely professional. Nothing was scratched or broken. And they finished hours earlier than I had expected. I highly recommend this company.

ALDIE, VA 07/16/12
With all of the hassles of moving, the last thing anyone needs is movers adding to the stress. My experience with Commonwealth Movers exceeded my expectations. This was my first time contracting with movers, so I had plenty of questions and concerns. The individual that provided the price quote did a good job of, not only estimating the amount of work required, but also clearly explained what I should expect along the way. The moving crew, headed by Julio, was considerate and very hard-working. They made an effort to protect my possessions. Though I did notice a few knicks here and there, I know that I would have done far more damage if I had tried to move everything myself. All-in all, I had a good experience and will recommend Commonwealth to others.

FREDERICK, MD 05/11/12
Commonwealth Movers' original estimate was lower than another large well-known company's. Their 4 movers could not have been more courteous, patient, and efficient, although they had more than twice the work that had been estimated (our fault, for seriously under-estimating how much stuff we had and how much there was still to pack). We expected a final charge that would reflect this, but it was surprisingly moderate. Overall no moving company could have done better.

 


HOME ABOUT US SERVICES RESIDENTIAL MOVING  BUSINESS MOVING
GET AN ESTIMATE TESTIMONIALS PACKING & STORAGE CONTACT US LINKS